What is Hauts France known for?

What is Hauts France known for?

Hauts de France is home to two UNESCO World Heritage Sites. One of these is the Belfries of Belgium and France which is a group of 56 historical belfries spanning the border region of the two countries. The other is Amiens Cathedral, an impressive 13th Century gothic building in the heart of the city.

What important cities are in Hauts de France?

The biggest cities include Lille, (the 5th largest French metropolitan area), Dunkirk (Dunkerque), Lens, Valencienne, Calais, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Le Touquet where the newly elected French President Emmanuel Macron owns a house and the town of Amiens where he was born!

What are the regions of France called?

List of administrative regions

Type Region Capital
Metropolitan region Hauts-de-France (Upper France) Lille
Metropolitan region Île-de-France (Island of France) Paris
Metropolitan region Normandie (Normandy) Caen
Metropolitan region Nouvelle-Aquitaine (New Aquitaine) Bordeaux

What are the names of the 5 overseas regions in France?

The five French overseas territorial communities are Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, the Wallis and Futuna Islands and French Polynesia.

What is Picardy known for?

Picardy is known for its dairy and beef cattle and is also a strong arable region which produces 25% of all French agricultural exports, and is the second largest wheat producer in the country.

Why should I visit Hauts-de-France?

It is a region of awesome cathedrals, belfries, castles, and World War sites but it is also a land of wide-open spaces, wild coasts, and beautiful countryside. Its proximity and good train connections with the French Capital, make of Hauts-de-France also an attractive region to explore on day trips from Paris by train.

What is the capital of Hauts-de-France?

The capital is Lille. Lille, France. In June 2014 French Pres. François Hollande announced a plan to reduce the number of régions in metropolitan France from 21 to 13.

What is the economy of Hauts-de-France?

The Hauts de France region in figures : GDP €150 billion (7.2% of national GDP, fourth biggest regional GDP) About 3,600 road freight transport companies (2/3 in the Nord-Pas de Calais and 1/3 in Picardy) 5th biggest French exporting region and 2nd biggest importing region in 2016.

What are the 6 regions of France?

Regions of France

  • Avignon – Provence Region.
  • Bordeaux – Aquitaine Region.
  • Dijon – Burgundy Region.
  • French Alps Region.
  • Loire Valley – Pays De La Loire Region.
  • Lyon – Rhone Alpes Region.
  • Nice & Cannes – French Riviera Region.
  • Normandy – Normandy Region.

What are the 18 administrative regions of France?

18 Regions Of France List (Map + Attractions)

  • Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (Auvergne-Rhône-Alps Region)
  • Bourgogne-Franche-Comté (Burgundy-Free County Region)
  • Bretagne (Brittany Region)
  • Centre-Val de Loire (Centre-Loire Valley Region)
  • Corse (Corsica Region)
  • Grand Est (Great East Region)
  • Hauts-de-France (Upper France Region)

Is French Guiana France?

French Guiana, overseas territorial collectivity of France, situated on the northeastern coast of South America. French Guiana is bounded by Brazil to the south and east, Suriname to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast. The capital is Cayenne.

Which are the 14 British overseas territories?

The British overseas territories (formerly known as British dependent territories or Crown colonies) are: Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; St …