What organs are found in the 9 abdominal regions?

What organs are found in the 9 abdominal regions?

The abdomen contains many vital organs: the stomach, the small intestine (jejunum and ileum), the large intestine (colon), the liver, the spleen, the gallbladder, the pancreas, the uterus, the fallopian tubes, the ovaries, the kidneys, the ureters, the bladder, and many blood vessels (arteries and veins).

What organs are in each region of the abdomen?

Knowing which organs are associated with each region can help determine the cause of abdominal pain.

  • Right upper abdomen. Organs: liver, gallbladder, duodenum, kidney.
  • Right lower abdomen. Organs: appendix, colon, ovary.
  • Left upper abdomen. Organs: stomach, spleen, pancreas, kidney.
  • Left lower abdomen. Organs: colon, ovary.

When the abdomen is divided into nine regions which of the following is one of the three central areas?

The three main centrally positioned regions are the epigastric region, the umbilical region, and the hypogastric region also known as the pubic region.

What are the organs found in the right hypochondriac region?

The right hypochondriac region contains: liver (right lobe), gallbladder, hepatic duct, and right colic angle. The right lumbar region contains the ascending colon and the right kidney when cecum and appendix lie in the right iliac region.

Where is the abdominal region?

The abdomen (colloquially called the belly, tummy, midriff or stomach) is the part of the body between the thorax (chest) and pelvis, in humans and in other vertebrates. The abdomen is the front part of the abdominal segment of the torso. The area occupied by the abdomen is called the abdominal cavity.

How is abdomen divided?

The human abdomen is divided into quadrants and regions by anatomists and physicians for the purposes of study, diagnosis, and treatment. The quadrants are referred to as the left lower quadrant, left upper quadrant, right upper quadrant and right lower quadrant.

How are the quadrants of the abdomen divided?

One division method, uses one median sagittal plane and one transverse plane that passes through the umbilicus at right angles. This method divides the abdomen into four quadrants. Medical personnel can easily refer to these quadrants when describing pain or injury regarding a victim.

What are abdominal quadrants?

Abdominal quadrants are the divisions of the abdomen into four major regions, useful for studying the area. Learn the organs and division of the Right Upper (RUQ), Right Lower (RLQ), Left Upper (LUQ), and Left Lower (LLQ) quadrants of the abdomen.

What are the quadrants of abdomen?

Four abdominal quadrants

  • right upper quadrant fossa (RUQ)
  • right lower quadrant fossa (RLQ)
  • left lower quadrant fossa (LLQ)
  • left upper quadrant fossa (LUQ)

How many regions is the abdomen divided into?

9 separate regions
The abdomen has been bisected, trisected, and even divided into as many as 9 separate regions. The layers of the abdominal wall consist of the skin, superficial fascia, and muscles.