Where did the 2012 Ryder Cup take place?

Where did the 2012 Ryder Cup take place?

The 39th Ryder Cup was held September 28–30, 2012, in the United States at the Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Illinois, a suburb northwest of Chicago.

What is the Ryder Cup and how does it work?

The Ryder Cup is a match play event, with each match worth one point. The competition format was: On the first two days there were 4 foursome matches and 4 fourball matches, with the home captain choosing which were played in the morning and which in the afternoon.

Who are the captains of the Ryder Cup teams?

This was the first time that the Ryder Cup was held in Illinois. Europe went into the competition as the cup holders, having won in 2010 to regain it. The team captains were Davis Love III for the U.S. and José María Olazábal for Europe.

How many points do you need to win the Ryder Cup?

With a total of 28 points available, 14½ points are required to win the Cup, and 14 points are required for the defending champion to retain the Cup. All matches are played to a maximum of 18 holes.

What was the final score of the Ryder Cup 2018?

Martin Kaymer ‘s five-foot putt on the 18th hole to defeat Steve Stricker took the score to 14–13, allowing Europe to retain the cup with one match still in progress. Tiger Woods missed a putt on the final green and conceded the hole to Francesco Molinari, halving the final point and securing outright victory for the European team, 14½–13½.

Who are the vice-captains for 2012 Ryder Cup?

Love named the first two USA vice-captains in June 2012 and announced the other two after the PGA Championship. Olazábal named three of his vice-captains on August 16. The fourth vice-captain was announced on August 25. Captains picks are shown in yellow; the world rankings and records are at the start of the 2012 Ryder Cup.